“Aha”, Gamification might just work

Of the two articles on MOOC’s and game-based learning and the discussion between myself and my learning partner the point that stood out the most was the competitive element of gamification.  Originally, I thought that there was no way that game-based learning could be applied to trades instruction.  And I picked this trend to reinforce my pre-determined assumption.  But after reading the article and discussing it with my learning partner I realized I had jumped to the wrong conclusion.  My students are generally young adults who all have experience playing video games.  In fact, I see most playing games on their phones on breaks.  It got me thinking that I would not be too hard to set up some games based learning on trades specific subjects with a competitive element.  It would be interesting to see a little competition between the students and have them reinforce a technical concept at the same time.

Leave a Reply

