Implications of MOOC’s and Game-Based Learning

Interestingly my learning partner and I are teaching courses that are worlds apart; Heavy Duty Technician and Philosophy.  As far as MOOC’s and teaching a trade I don’t see much connection.  A large part of what I teach is hand’s on.  I cannot see a MOOC assisting with this.  In regards to my learning partner’s course, it’s a little different.  He has concerns about students just signing up online to learn from a far away institution instead of enrolling at his institution.  But, as he learned through his article, his fears maybe unfounded as there are issues with accreditation and the ability to have meaningful discussions with groups of students.  When it comes to gamification and learning a trade I initially thought that there could be no value to the trades student.  But after further contemplation I realized, if done correctly, there could be some learning value there.  Especially with keeping the younger students engaged.  My learning partner had a similar revelation in regards to philosophy.  At first glance it doesn’t seem applicable but in reality, there are benefits if done correctly.

Leave a Reply

